Day Five

Today is the fifth day of my vegetarian adventure. Although I have not eaten any meat since Tuesday, this has not gone as planned. By that I mean I didn’t plan on having two sick kids this week which made grocery shopping difficult. But thanks to the support of my darling husband who made several impromptu food runs, I have been able to stay meat free. Today our kitchen will be filled with groceries, so next week should go even better.

My worst temptation so far was Friday night when I was making supper. We went simple, grilled cheese sandwiches and some veggies. Josh wanted ham on his sandwich, so I made his with ham. Opening the package I was hit with the wonderful smell, and I almost caved. It was right there in front of me, taunting me, but I held strong. And I got angry. No way was I going to buckle three days in, but I couldn’t help but get mad. I’m not sure what I was mad about exactly. That may purge itself through this process.

Today on day five, I’m going strong. I don’t really want to eat meat, and I can’t say that I miss it. I’ve noticed that I’m not as hungry, and when I do get hungry, I don’t get ravenous, and a small snack will take care of it. I have been eating more fruits and veggies, and because of that, the kids are eating more fruits and veggies too. Jacob has claimed that he isn’t going to eat meat either (except of course, Josh is taking him to La Crosse this evening and I’m sure they’ll stop at McDonalds.), except for hamburgers, chicken nuggets, and tuna. When I put ham on his plate the other night (more ham for supper on Saturday, but I was stonger. Still tempted, but stronger), he got angry with me: “MOMMY! I told you, I don’t want to eat any meat!” Because of his new conviction, I know I have to be even more mindful of what I am eating since he is copying me.

As best as I can tell, I’m down three pounds also. Could be a natural fluctuation, so I’m not reading too much into that. Also, my scale runs on an abacus, so I’m not sure how accurate it is. And I don’t think any levels were harmed in the construction of this house, so finding a truly level surface to weigh myself on is a challenge. Someday I’ll write about the terrain of this house and it reminds me of an episode of How I Met Your Mother.

I still need to purge more junk from my diet. Baby steps. I wanted to say I was giving up Coke for Lent too, but that has been a big struggle. Any abstaining from that lover will have to be another time.

I have vegetarian meals selected for this experience, but if anyone reading this has any suggestions, I’d be happy to have them! And no, Rich’s famous Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich doesn’t count. I still have that recipe from my bridal shower years ago. And I can’t even use it. Oh well.

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

